Let’s Talk About That Zelda! – Video Game Collection Pt. 7

If I had to play one video game for the rest of my life it would be Zelda; especially Link To The Past. But that’s a tale for another day. I’m here to talk about Twilight Princess.

Now, I have so much Zelda shit, it’s stupid. I know there are many people who have ten times more than me, there are people who collect EVERYTHING Zelda. I focus more on the games. Getting complete copies of each game and having multiple formats of the same game. 

I have 4 copies of TP.

Tip of the iceberg.

ANYWAY.

Twilight Princess is my second favorite Zelda game. 

I know that’s blasphemy. Just like Majora’s Mask is my least favorite (I’ll take Zelda II ANY DAY over MM). 

Twilight Princess also holds a very special place in my heart in more than one way.

I was one of those people that freaked out over how gorgeous TP looked. I cried. Just a little. 

Zelda was the one game my parents would buy me. Mind you, I had been playing Zelda since I was two, and they saw how much I loved it. So, it seemed almost like a ritual when a new Zelda game came out, I ended up with a system to play it on. My parents bought a SNES to play LttP. My parents bought a N64 for OoT. My parents bought me a Wii for TP. Those were some of the best memories of my adolescence. 

So there’s that.

It holds another special place in my heart because that’s how I met my partner-in-time, Dillon. I also thought it was appropriate to discuss this game because it’s been ten years since I met Dillon

TEN YEARS.

I can’t believe we were 15 ten years ago. It just blows my mind. 

So, we met at the lunch table in highschool. I recently moved back to the area, and was slowly making friends. When I met Dillon he was describing how he couldn’t get to the higher levels of the Lakebed Temple. He can’t hitting the table with the palm of his hand, and then pointing saying ‘how do I get up there?!’ 

Everyone was laughing at him. 

I thought he looked damn stupid.

So, the first thing I say to him is ‘It a pretty easy dungeon. You can’t handle it?’ or something to that effect.

 Bottom line: I made fun of him. 

It was a horrible thing to do, especially with me being the new kid, and I totally didn’t know him. But he took it in stride.

Now, mind you, this blossomed into a great friendship. Nothing more for the longest time. This isn’t some ‘love at first sight’ shit. We had periods of hating one another. It was quite a turbulent relationship.

But when we talk about TP, it’s always with fondness and inside jokes.

Now, the game itself, is spectacular. I was in awe of how big Hyrule Field was, and how alive Castle Town was. I loved how you could turn into a wolf for certain objectives. I loved how gorgeous the world looked. It was everything a Zelda game should be and more.

Alot of people don’t like it it seems. Whether it be the long burn off a beginning, or just the overall gloom that hangs over the game. 

If you haven’t played it, you need to check it out especially if you are a Zelda fan. The controls are tight on very port, and the story may start slow, but it becomes quite gripping.

Happy 10 years Dill!

E. 

Leave a Reply

