Video Game Collection Pt. 6

Donkey Kong Country is a classic SNES game. Most people have played it, and absolutely love it. With good reason; the platforming and controls are polished. The graphics were ahead of it’s time: using 3D character models that looked better than some games in the later game console generation. 

I have a weird tick about DKC. When I was a child, I owned only the first game. And everytime it was ‘Game Over’, I would scream. I have no idea why, but that ‘Game Over’ screen freaked me out. 

That image still makese anxious. Accomapnied with the somber, creepy music; it was fucking nightmare fuel for me.

I don’t know why it scared me so much, but in my experience, unconventional things freak me out. And this ‘Game Over’ screen was one of them. Another video game moment that scared me was in Tomb Raider 1 (PS1), where a statue comes to life. 

Scared the shit out of me.

I couldn’t play that game for weeks.

Anyway,

My favorite thing about DKC was the music. The music is excellent. It sets the right tone for each level. One of my favorite levels is Crystal Caves. 

I fell in love with this level because it’s just down right beautiful. The crystals would gleem in the background, making the world come alive. The level itself is nerve-wracking, and the music just makes it worse. But after you beat it, it’s so satisfying. 

I have played the other DKC games, and they are just as good, if not better. 

But the first one is a comfort game, and that is the one I will always go back to. 

E.

Follow me on Twitter: 

@earthhboundgirl

Follow me on Instagram: 

@earthboundgirlx

Leave a Reply

