Video Game Collection Pt. 5

I have had this game since I was a child. I remember spreading out the glossy paper map that came with it, and looking over the types of monsters in the game. I still have the original manual; it’s missing the cover and in shreds because of my constant handling of it. 

This is such an underrated gem for the SNES. I know it’s partly nostalgia that blinds me, but I have played this game so much, and I never tire of it. It’s one of my favorite games, easily. 

It’s a pretty simple game, and quote bare bones for a RPG. It’s alot like Zelda: LTTP when it comes to combat, and the visuals of the game. Maybe that’s why I love it so much; I played both games at the same time when I was a child. 


You play as young Will, who lives in a small village on the coast. He stumbles into an adventure across the world that involves saving a princess, finding a golden ship, and ultimately, finding his way to the Tower of Babel.

What it lacks in gameplay it definitely makes up wit story. The story is rich with detail, and focuses on complex ideas. Constantly making comparsions to light and dark, and showing the player realistic examples of that. For example, slavery is a common theme throughout IoG, and shows how humanity can be so cruel to one another. 

I can’t campaign enough for this game. I wish everyone could play this forgotten game and fall in love with it. Please, if you need a new game dive into this one.

Leave a Reply

